Everything We Know About Hillsong Worship's 'OPEN HEAVEN / River Wild'

Hillsong Worship

Stylized as 'OPEN HEAVEN / River Wild,' this is the 24th annual live worship album by Hillsong Worship. It was recorded during the Hillsong Conference in Sydney, Australia by the Hillsong Worship, Young & Free and UNITED teams last July 2015. The album is going to be released worldwide on 16 October 2015. 


On 12 March 2015, Hillsong Worship released their Easter single "O Praise the Name (Anástasis)" as a free download on their website.  "One Thing" was released on 18 September 2015 via iTunes as a pre-order single. 

Album Title:

Here's what the team says about the titular: "It's a great title for an album isn't it?  The art is spectacular, the song is beautiful... but what does it actually mean? What are we trying to communicate when we say OPEN HEAVEN / River Wild? I think the answer is simply found in the Scriptures...

In Genesis 28:12-15, God stood at the top of the stairway from Heaven, and Jacob's perspective about his calling was changed. In Ezekiel 1, Ezekiel sees the manifested glory of God, resulting in worship and hearing the voice of God. Stephen became filled with the Holy Spirit, and gazed into heaven and saw Jesus (Acts 7:55-56). Only a few chapters later (Acts 9:3-6), Paul had an intense God-encounter that changed his life forever and he received his apostolic calling. InActs 10:11-46, the sky was loosened while Peter was in meditation and was given the Gospel to the Gentiles. And in John's vision in Revelation 4, a door was standing open in Heaven and a voice came forth saying, "Come up here, and I will show you things which must take place after this." Then John saw the throne of God.

As we experience God opening up the heavens, we hear His voice, and we find ourselves facedown on our knees. When faced with an Open Heaven, we cannot remain unchanged - our only response is worship. Humble, uninhibited, passionate worship."

Track Listing followed by songwriters and (worship leader):

1. "O Praise the Name (Anástasis)"   Benjamin Hastings, Dean Ussher and Marty Sampson (Marty Sampson) 5:29

2. "Love On the Line"   Aryel Murphy, Brooke Ligertwood and Scott Ligertwood (Aryel Murphy) 4:56

3. "One Thing"   Joel Houston, Aodhan King and Dylan Thomas (Aodhan King) 6:13

4. "Open Heaven (River Wild)"   Marty Sampson and Matt Crocker (Matt Crocker and Hannah Hobbs) 7:29

5. "Transfiguration"   Aodhan King, Brooke Ligertwood, Scott Ligertwood and Taya Smith (Taya Smith) 5:36

6. "What a Saviour"   Chris Davenport and Joel Houston (Joel Houston) 6:57

7. "Heart Like Heaven"   Joel Houston and Matt Crocker (Jad Gillies) 7:28

8. "Jesus I Need You"   Dave Ware and Reuben Morgan (Reuben Morgan) 4:59

9. "Here With You"   Jamie Snell, Johannes Shore and Joshua Grimmett (Tarryn Stokes) 4:20

10. "In God We Trust"   Ben Fielding, Eric Liljero and Reuben Morgan (Ben Fielding and Annie Garratt) 4:01

11. "Faithfulness"   Chris Davenport (Chris Davenport) 5:38

12. "Never Forsaken"   Benjamin Hastings and Hannah Hobbs (Laura Toggs) 4:36

Digital deluxe edition

13. "Here Now (Madness)" (Joel Houston, Jad Gillies and Taya Smith) 6:55

14. "Rule" (Jonathan Douglass) 4:13

15. "This Is Living" (Aodhan King) 3:34

16. "Pursue / All I Need Is You (Medley)" (Aodhan King and Tracy Pratt) 

Worship Leaders:

This is the third live album not to feature Darlene Zschech on vocals.  Current worship pastor Reuben Morgan is also under represented as this album features him on lead vocals on one song.  Jay Cook also is dearly missed on this record.  Nevertheless, senior pastor Brian Houston's daughter Laura Toggs, who sang lead on the "Glorious Ruins" album, gets to lead again on "Never Forsaken."  Representing UNITED, Taya Smith gets the spotlight again this time with "Transfiguration."  Arguably the longest standing worship leader on the set is Marty Sampson who has been leading worship at the mega church since the 90s.  Here, he gets to spearhead the project by singing lead on the lead single.


Unlike other albums where the team have utilized help from outside writers such as Chris Tomlin, Leeland Mooring, and Jonas Myrin, this new album is an in-house affair.  Regular writer Brooke Fraser (Ligertwood) gets two cuts. Taya Smith debuts her pen for the first time with "Transfiguation."  Reuben Morgan who usually contributes the lion's share of songs only gets two contributions.





Tags : hillsong worship Hillsong Darlene Zschech hillsong church hillsong open heaven river wild hillsong news Hillsong new album hillsong latest

Hot Trends

Most Popular

popular videos