Laura Cortese & the Dance Cards to Release "California Calling"

Laura Cortese

Cutting her teeth as a sideman in Boston's roots music scene,Laura Cortese forged a unique path through a pool rich in talent (due to a large population of Berklee School of Music graduates like herself) including stints as an instrumentalist with Band of HorsesPete SeegerRose CousinsJocie Adams (of the Low Anthem), and Uncle Earl. As first revealed on Folk Alley, Cortese's Compass Records debut, CALIFORNIA CALLING, is the next step in her career as a frontwoman and bandleader-she and her Dance Cards (cellist Valerie Thompson, fiddler Jenna Moynihan, and bassist Natalie Bohrn) break new ground with a bold and elegant new album, based in the lyrical rituals of folk music but exploring new territories of rhythm and sonics.

"We can't imagine a better home for CALIFORNIA CALLING than the inventive and masterful roster of musicians on Compass Records." says Cortese.

With the support of Sam Kassirer, album producer of folk-pop favorites like Lake Street Dive and Joy Kills Sorrow, they've created something that's simultaneously rowdy, delicate and cinematic. This is post-folk that seriously rocks.

On a recent tour stop in Stockholm, the band filmed a video for album opener, "The Low Hum". Watch the video premiere here on Folk Alley.

Laura Cortese & The Dance Cards, CALIFORNIA CALLING will be released October 6th, 2017 on Compass Records.


1. The Low Hum 

2. Callifornia Calling

3. Three Little Words 

4. Skipping Stone 

5. Hold On 

6. Swing & Turn (Jubilee) 

7. Rhododendron 

8. Someday 

9. Stockholm 

10. Pace Myself 

11. If You Hear Me  


Tags : laura cortese and the dance cards california calling bluegrass

Hot Trends

Most Popular

popular videos