Harry Connick Jr. Sings "How Great Thou Art" in Welcoming Pope Francis & Readies New Album

Harry Connick Jr.

Pop/funk/jazz singer Harry Connick Jr. and other entertainers performed for a jubilant crowd Friday, Sept. 25, at a concert to welcome Pope Francis on his first visit to the U.S.. Connick sang "How Great Thou Art" and several Broadway actors performed in the 20,000-seat arena (see video below).

The audience included dignitaries, members of religious orders and everyday Catholics who won tickets through their local parishes.The event, called "A Journey in Faith," stretched for two hours at Madison Square Garden with performers standing on a white elevated stage that would soon transform into the altar from which the pope would celebrate Mass. 

Meanwhile, Connick is preparing for the release of his new album on Oct. 23, That Would Be Me. For the first time in his career, Connick has taken a step outside his musical comfort zone to work in the studio with two 'external' producers on this album ' the acclaimed Eg White (Sam Smith, Adele, Florence And The Machine) and Butch Walker (Taylor Swift, Katy Perry, Pink, Weezer). 

'That Would Be Me' was recorded in London with White and Nashville with Walker. The result is a carefully crafted record full of surprises and stirring musical conjurations, delivering eleven new songs and new insights into his artistry. Additionally, the album art also represents a departure from his other covers, showcasing a portrait of his face created entirely from musical objects. The first track to be lifted from the album is the catchy '(I Do) Like We Do) - see Harry talking about the making of his newest single

'For the most part, nobody's ever made musical decisions for me before,' said Connick. 'This is brand new territory. I'm used to jumping in head-first, but all of a sudden I found myself not in full control of the wheel anymore.' Connick notes that he picked up on both producers' styles as they began working together. 'Butch is more of a 'let's play the song in the room' kind of guy, so we invited a couple more musicians in; with Eg, it was a completely different experience ' it was just the two of us in a room writing, starting with an idea, a groove or a chord or melody line.'

1. (I Like It When You) Smile
2. (I Do) Like We Do
3. Tryin' To Matter
4. Songwriter
5. Do You Really Need Her
6. You Don't Need A Man
7. You Have No Idea
8. Where Prisoners Drown
9. (I Think I) Love U A Little Bit
10. Every Time I Fall In Love
11. Right Where It Hurts 



Tags : harry connick jr. harry connick jr how great thou art harry connick jr american idol pope francis harry connick jr new album harry connick jr that would be me harry connick jr news

Hot Trends

Most Popular

popular videos