Twila Paris' "Greatest Hits: Time and Again" is 14 Years-Old

Twila Paris

14 years ago, singer and songwriter Twila Paris' "Greatest Hits: Time and Again" was released.  The album celebrated the over 20 years of ministry of Paris as a CCM artist in 2001. In honor of her ministry and her legacy of music, Sparrow Records released her first ever greatest hits project in September 2001.

The 18-track album features 15 classic Paris songs, including "The Warrior Is a Child," "God Is in Control," "Lamb of God," and "How Beautiful." In addition, the album contains three new songs: "Faithful Father," "Sparks and Shadows," and "God of Miracles." 

Here's the tracklisting:

1. Sparks and Shadows
2. God of Miracles 
3. Faithful Father
4. The Warrior is a Child 
5. God is in Control
6. How Beautiful 
7. Run to You
8. Runner
9. Destiny
10. We Will Glorify
11. Faithful Friend
12. Lamb of God
13. We Bow Down
14. He is Exalted
15. The Time is Now
16. The Joy of the Lord
17. I Am Not Afraid Anymore
18. Every Heart That is Breaking 

As a child she released her first album, Little Twila Paris, in 1965. The album included songs drawn from among those she sang with her family in their evangelistic outreaches. Paris released her first full-length album, Knowin' You're Around, in 1980, and along the way she has written books, recorded children's music, and created worship songs.

In the 1980s and 1990s, Paris released mainly contemporary Christian pop songs. But in recent years, she has focused on recording new versions of some of her worship standards and writing new praise and worship music. Her 2005 album He Is Exalted: Live Worship collects a number of favorite songs commonly used in praise and worship of Paris's and presents them in a more typical style of live worship music. After her song "He Is Exalted" was used in churches in Brazil, Paris re-recorded it in the Portuguese translation they were using. This version appears on her 1992 album Sanctuary. Sanctuary won the GMA Praise & Worship Album of the Year, and in 1995, her song "God Is In Control" won a GMA Song of the Year award. She has won five GMA Dove Awards and three American Songwriter Awards.

Although associated for much of her career with Star Song Communications, EMI switched her to Sparrow Records in 1996, before her contract ended after 2003. In 2005, she switched to the praise and worship label Integrity Music for He Is Exalted: Live Worship.

Paris released Small Sacrifice on December 26, 2007, which was available only through her Web site and at Lifeway Christian Stores. This album married the two parts of her career by including both inspirational pop/adult contemporary songs and original praise and worship compositions. Her first radio single from Small Sacrifice was "Live to Praise". Small Sacrifice was released for wider distribution by Koch Records on February 24, 2009.

In 2012, Paris released a patriotic-themed project that includes two new cuts ("God of Our Fathers" and "America the Beautiful") and ten cuts that Paris hand-picked from other projects. The purpose of the project is to inspire patriots with themes of God's protection and love, even in difficult times.
In the 1980s and 1990s, Paris toured extensively.

As a new artist, she opened for the Imperials. After receiving her first #1 hit, she began headlining her own concert tours, with such notable opening artists as Wayne Watson, Clay Crosse, Phil Keaggy, Avalon, Aaron-Jeoffrey, Fernando Ortega, and Out of the Grey. She was featured in the Young Messiah tour and co-hosted with Steven Curtis Chapman both the My Utmost For His Highest and Child of the Promise tours. In the 2000s, she continues to tour but not as extensively. For the past few years, Paris has joined Steve Green, Wayne Watson, Larnelle Harris and Michael Card for the Christian Classics Tour 

Tags : twila paris twila paris news twila paris latest twila paris album review twila paris greatest hits twila paris greatest hits: time and again

Hot Trends

Most Popular

popular videos