Josh Turner Teams Up with Randy Travis, John Anderson, Johnny Cash & Others for New Album

Josh Turner

Multi-platinum-selling country music star Josh Turner invites fans to join him in scaling what the charismatic performer likes to call his "Mount Rushmore of Country Music" on his outstanding new studio album Country State of Mind, scheduled for release August 21 on MCA Nashville/Universal Music. 

The 12-song collection finds Turner in an enlightened "country state of mind" as he pays homage to a cross-section of classic country music icons, including five legends who have long held a firm place in his musical journey: Randy Travis, John Anderson, Johnny Cash, Vern Gosdin, and Hank Williams, "I've always said that any song you hear coming from my voice, you're going to hear bits and pieces of those five guys," says Turner. "They taught me how to be Josh Turner."

The new rendition of the Randy Travis classic "Forever and Ever, Amen" marks Travis' first recording session since an incapacitating 2013 stroke. "Randy has always been my hero. He was the reason I wanted to become a country singer," recounts Turner.  "He's an inspiring figure, not just to me but to a lot of people, so to have him sing on this record is pretty special." 

Early in his career, Turner often performed Vern Gosdin's first chart-topping single, "I Can Tell By the Way You Dance (You're Gonna Love Me Tonight)," and has long dreamed of re-introducing it to a new generation of listeners, and he also teams up with John Andersonto reprise Anderson's 1993 hit "I've Got It Made." Turner also plays guitar for the first time on one of his albums on his renditions of Johnny Cash's "The Caretaker" and Hank Williams' "Alone and Forsaken" - the album's oldest, and darkest, songs.  Country Music Hall of Famer Kris Kristofferson joined Turner to record a new version of his 1973 chart-topper "Why Me". 

Other standout tracks include the title track, originally a 1986 hit for Hank Williams Jr., which becomes a duet with fellow Grand Ole Opry member Chris Janson; the members of Runaway June take George Jones' part on "You Don't Seem to Miss Me," and Maddie & Tae sing with Turner on "Desperately," a 2004 single for George Strait and the album's newest song.

With his rich, deep voice and distinctive style, Josh Turner is one of country music's most recognizable hit-makers.  Turner has scored recognition from the GRAMMY®, CMA, ACM, GMA Dove and Inspirational Country Music Awards. As one of the youngest members inducted into the Grand Ole Opry, Turner has sold more than 8.5 million units, topped more than 2.5 billion in global streaming, and populated radio with such memorable hits as "Hometown Girl," "Would You Go With Me," "Your Man," "Time Is Love," "Why Don't We Just Dance" and "Long Black Train."

Country State of Mind Track Listing:

  1. I'm No Stranger To The Rain
  2. I've Got It Made (Duet with John Anderson)
  3. Why Me (Duet with Kris Kristofferson)
  4. Country State Of Mind (Duet with Chris Janson)
  5. I Can Tell By The Way You Dance
  6. Alone And Forsaken (Featuring Allison Moorer)
  7. Forever And Ever, Amen (With Special Guest Randy Travis)
  8. Midnight In Montgomery
  9. Good Ol' Boys
  10. You Don't Seem To Miss Me (Featuring Runaway June)
  11. Desperately (Featuring Maddie & Tae)
  12. The Caretaker

Follow Josh Turner:

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram 



Tags : josh turner josh turner new album josh turner news Country State of Mind john anderson johnny cash vern gosdin randy travis Hank Williams

Hot Trends

Most Popular

popular videos