Julie Elias Releases New Album "A Girl Like Me"

Julie Elias

Singer and songwriter Julie Elias has just released her brand new album "A Girl Like Me." "A Girl Like Me" is a heartfelt, honest battle with feelings of loneliness and worthlessness. Feelings we all have experienced but don't have to live with. The album looks at how God's faithfulness inspires confidence and strength in our weaknesses. When we are at are lowest is when we need to remember we are loved and even a "girl like me" is worthy of God's love.  

"Awaken," is the first single from the new album. It's about closing the chapter of darkness in your life and stepping out into the light, committing to God that you're ready to obey Him and do His work. The song is inspired by Romans 13:12 which says "The night is nearly over; the day is almost here. So let us put aside the deeds of darkness and put on the armor of light." It is truly an anthem, with big guitars and a soaring melody all backed by a powerful message.

One of Julie's personal favorites of the album is a throwback to a song she sang a million times in youth group by one of the classic youth group bands, dc Talk. The song "In the Light" was an energized catchy tune that swept teens across the country when it came out in the mid-90s. A reimagining but keeping to the original style, "In the Light" is totally in line with so many of her talking points to the teen girls - it is definitely one Julie is excited to share with a new generation!

There are several songs in "piano-pop" style that is becoming one of Julie's signatures, including "Forgive Me" a song about repairing a relationship and "Only For Awhile," a semi-autobiographical tune about how the seasons we go through in life make us who we are. There are also exciting worship songs such as a cover of Kim Walker-Smith's "Alive" and a new high-energy original penned by Julie called "Unchained." The theatrical ballad "Wherever You Roam" has an 80s rock feel and a message of hope for anyone starting a new chapter. The song was written with high school graduates in mind as they embark on their first experience away from home. Several personal songs round out the album, such as "Run Away" and "Lost," written about times in Julie's life where she had to fight her "flight" response and trust that God was indeed in control- definitely a recurring theme for so many of us!


1. Unchained
2. Only for Awhile
3. Awaken
4. A Girl Like Me
5. Alive
6. Forgive Me
7. Lost
8. Run Away
9. Here with Us
10. Wherever You Roam
11. A Wild Rose
12. In the Light 




Tags : julie elias a girl like me julie elias new album julie elias news

Hot Trends

Most Popular

popular videos