Stoney Creek Bluegrass Band Releases Music Video for "Never Tell Me"

Stoney Creek Bluegrass Band

Stoney Creek Bluegrass Band has released a music video for the single "Never Tell Me". "Never Tell Me" is the second single and video from the band's album "Memories & Tears". The song is one of eleven original tracks on "Memories & Tears" written by the late Deanna Stottlemyer, sister of Stoney Creek's Libby Files. The band decided to record a full album of Stottlemyer's original material after recording two gospel tunes for 2012's "Are You Ready?" project.

"Memories & Tears" was released to radio broadcasters in June via AirPlay Direct, and the album went to #1 on the website's Top 50 Albums chart. The album's 11 tracks also held the top 11 spots on AirPlay Direct's Top 50 Singles chart. Stottlemyer had performed and recorded six of the songs, leaving Stoney Creek with a blueprint for their rendition. Stottlemyer's and Files' mother, Ruby Kindle, then gave Files an additional five songs that only existed as lyrics on paper. 

"Some of them she sang in her band, but then my mom gave me a stack of songs that she wrote and said 'why don't you do something with these?' So that's what I did," Files says. "I give the guys credit; they're all singing on it with me," Files says. "It's a project that I started mainly for my mom and dad; that's why I called it "Memories & Tears". I wanted to get all of my sister's music on a CD for them. There are 11 songs on the project - six are gospel songs and five are traditional bluegrass. I tried to keep them with a traditional flavor." 

Stoney Creek has been praised as "mainstream bluegrass at its best" by Bluegrass Unlimited. Frank Jurney of the Berryville Bluegrass Series has noted that "Libby [Files] is among the rising number of female vocalists who are making a big impact on bluegrass music."

"Memories & Tears" is the first project to feature Stoney Creek's current lineup, including Libby Files on vocals and bass, Brett Smeltzer on mandolin and vocals, Kenton Catlett on guitar and vocals, and Troy Stangle on banjo and vocals. 


01 Come Stay A While 
02 Someone To Share The Load 
03 Give Them All To Jesus 
04 Now You're Back 
05 Won't It Be A Happy Time 
06 Never Tell Me 
07 Keep Your Eyes Towards Heaven 
08 Darling You Never Left My Heart 
09 Will It Be You 
10 Are You Ready 
11 Some Sweet Day  

Tags : stoney creek bluegrass band never tell me memories and tears bluegrass music Bluegrass Gospel

Hot Trends

Most Popular

popular videos